Decoding Decentralisation Reform

DATE: Tuesday, 13 October 2020

TIME: 11:00am – 12:15pm


Greater insights into the reforms underway that will impact the integration of DER into the grid and markets.

Chair: Craig Chambers, Investment Director, ARENA


Scott Chapman, Group Manager, Distributed Markets & Services, Australian Energy Market Operator 

Rob Murray-Leach, Head of Policy, Energy Efficiency Council

Anthony Seipolt, Advisor, Australian Energy Regulator

Dr Gabrielle Kuiper, DER Strategy Specialist, Energy Security Board (ESB) 

Ed Chan, Director, Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC)


Craig Chambers

Investment Director, ARENA

Craig has over 25 years of experience in the energy sector, his diverse background spans pioneering distributed and renewable energy innovation through to founding a vertically integrated start-up, in addition to leading corporate strategy, innovation, stakeholder engagement, regulation and pricing for Australia’s largest utility group. As a thought leader, Craig has supported the electricity sector to adapt to new technologies, adjust to changes in customer behaviour, and deployed innovative business models to achieve sustainable transformation. He is currently supporting ARENA with its Distributed Energy portfolio and transactions. Craig is the Chair of DEIP

Scott Chapman

Group Manager, Distributed Markets & Services, Australian Energy Market Operator 

Rob Murray-Leach

Head of Policy, Energy Efficiency Council

Rob has an extensive background in climate change, energy, transport and sustainability, as an author of the Garnaut Climate Change Review and senior policy expert in the South Australian Government. His academic background from Oxford and Adelaide focussed on behaviour and sustainability, and he has contributed to a number of texts in this field. Founding CEO of the Energy Efficiency Council, Rob now leads the Council’s policy and advocacy activities, working with members and governments to inform the development of robust and cost-effective energy efficiency policies and programs in Australia.

Anthony Seipolt

Advisor, Australian Energy Regulator

Anthony is an expert advisor and strategic thinker with a passion for improving outcomes at the interface between the technical, commercial and regulatory spheres. Anthony has over 30 years’ experience in the utility industry having worked widely across US, Europe, the UK and Asia. Anthony has consulted to more than 200 electricity and water companies across the world, and has also held several Board positions for community not-for-profit organisations.

Dr Gabrielle Kuiper
DER Strategy Specialist, Energy Security Board (ESB) 

Dr Gabrielle Kuiper is the DER Strategy Specialist with the Energy Security Board and a 2017 Churchill Fellow. In late 2018 she visited North America, the UK and Europe investigating the regulation of clean, smart, customer-centric energy networks. Dr Kuiper is an energy, sustainability and climate change professional with over twenty years experience in the corporate world, government and non-government organisations and academia.

Since 2010, she has held positions as the Head of Environmental Sustainability at ANZ bank; Senior Advisor, Climate Change, Energy and Environment to the Australian Prime Minister, the Hon Julia Gillard MP; Senior Policy Officer, Energy + Water Consumers Advocacy Program at the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) and Director, Climate Change, Resources and Energy at the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet. Among other awards, she was a U.S. Department of State Climate Change Professional Fellow in 2011 and a Hermon-Slade Foundation Chevening Scholar with the British Council in 1999.

Ed Chan
Director, Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC)


Accelerating a Green Economic Recovery

Tuesday, 6 October 2020
11:00am - 12:15pm

Australian Made: The Challenges and Opportunities

Tuesday, 6 October 2020
2:00pm - 3:15pm

The Two-Sided Market: The Technology Required

Tuesday, 13 October 2020
2:00pm – 3:15pm

Navigating a Dynamic Energy Landscape

Tuesday, 20 October 2020
11:00am - 12:15pm